Consumption and Production of Online Material

Module 5- Minor Blog Post

Before this course started, I never really considered my role in social media and it’s content. Yes, I had Facebook and Twitter accounts, but I never really thought about how it influenced the people reading the content I posted online. This blog, for one, has changed the way I produce content, as well as the topics of discussion I write about. I wouldn’t go as far as to say I’ve “redefined” my online persona because of this course, but I feel much more aware of what I’m posting.

In Lev Manovich’s article, “The Practice of Everyday (media) Life”, he writes:

“As De Certeau po(i)nts out, in modern societies most of the objects which people use in their everyday life are mass produced goods; these goods are the expressions of strategies of designers, producers, and marketers. People build their worlds and identities out of these readily available objects by using different tactics: bricolage, assembly, customization, and – to use the term which was not a part of De Certeau’s vocabularly but which has become important today – remix.” (Manovich, 6).

This is a perfect example and explanation of how people control the personal online content they produce. Nearly every piece of information produced online by an individual user is thought about, planned out, customized to that specific person and then finally released. I know from personal experience, even on a website like Twitter, I think about what I want to tweet, begin to over think the wording of my tweets, change them to fit my personal style, and finally releasing them to the critique of the twitter-verse. I am always so conscious of how my released online content is going to perceive, it often limits how much I actually release.

In regards to consumption of online material, I fall into the “over-consumption of fairly useless material” category of consumers. I, unfortunately, get caught up with social media websites that it often distracts me from actual work (I say this as I am both writing this blog and searching on Pinterest…). I am often caught consuming material that will allow me to have a vast random fact library, but is hardly considered academic or intellectual in any sense. Websites like Twitter and Pinterest are indeed cures for boredom but aren’t really something to be proud to announce you consume on an hourly basis.

Toby Miller argues that, “Consumption is the key to the new economy/creativity mantra.” (Miller, 6) in his article “A View from a Fossil”. The idea that online consumption is transforming the way people act and create content is highly believable. Thanks to the Internet, at the click of a button we have the world at our fingertips. Any question can be answered via a search engine like Google, so its not surprising that people are smarter, more creative, and more knowledgeable, all thanks to this growing technology.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Consumption and Production of Online Material

  1. Pingback: Module 5 Major: Common Ground in the World of Copyright « nwebb13

Leave a Reply

